1. General


To be effective, the regulation of food safety needs auditors who understand and are properly competent in the management systems approach. The purpose of the GPC ISO 22000 Auditor Certification program is to provide confidence to the regulatory authorities, accreditation bodies, certification bodies, business and industry as well as directly to the public at large that auditors certified to this program are competent. As part of the certification process we will evaluate you, the food safety auditor, against the requirements which reflect the key skills, knowledge and experience that define the competence you need to demonstrate during an audit.  The Food Safety Program is based on the standards:





ISO TS 22003:2013, Food Safety Management Systems –

Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of food safety management system.



ISO 22000:2018, Food Safety Management Systems –

Requirements for any Organization in the Food Chain and the auditing guidance standard:

ISO 19011 Guidelines for auditing management systems



Award of certification means that GPC has recognized that applicant understands and are competent (depending on the grade awarded) to:


• Uphold the principles of proper ethical conduct, fair presentation and due professional care
• Communicate orally and in writing with personnel at all levels of an organization
• Plan and organize an audit of an FSMS
• Identify and understand relevant business processes



Evaluate objective evidence and determine the effectiveness of a food safety management system with particular reference to:


• The effectiveness of the organization’s management of risk through its risk assessment program
• The capability of an organization to maintain compliance with legislative requirements
• The adequacy of the organization’s emergency procedures and responses
• The implementation of the risk control and improvements program
• The continuous improvement of food safety performance



2. Food Safety Management System Auditor Scheme, Specific Requirements


1) Basic Requirements





* The requirements of training certificate are as followings:


• Certificate of successful completion of applied management system lead auditor training course from GPC approved, which meet the procedure of training provider.
• Certificate of successful completion of applied management system lead auditor training course provider by ISO 17024 accredited as a personnel certification body.
• Certificate of successful completion of applied management system lead auditor training course from IRCA approved as a training provider.
• The training provider should implement the requirements either ISO 9001 or ISO 29990 in order to keep the quality management as a training provider.



2) Food Safety Management System Auditor Scheme, Specific (Additional) Requirements


Quality management methods and techniques enable you to examine quality management systems and to generate appropriate audit findings and conclusions.


Quality and technology that enable you to understand the fundamental relationships between human activities and the environment technical and quality aspects of operations that enable you to understand the interaction of your organization’s activities, products, services and operations with the environment.















Food safety management system auditor qualifications are described in ISO 22003.


FSMS auditor assignment and selection is based on specific education requirements, specific training requirements in both food safety and management system auditing, work experience and audit experience.


Next, the certification body used these requirements to determine whether the auditor was competent to audit specific sectors of the food chain.


In the sector understanding and work experience sections of the application form, applicants are required to demonstrate the knowledge and competencies:


a. Experience of working within the food chain, preferably with an understanding of implementing and/or operating a management system
b. Understanding the food sciences associated with food safety program
c. Knowledge of relevant key food safety legislation
d. Understanding prerequisite program
e. Knowledge of relevant good practice guides, such as GMP, GHP, GAP, GVP, etc
f. Understanding the principles of HACCP, as defined by the Codex Alimentarius
g. Understanding the principles of food safety risk management and risk mitigation, including the processes used for determination of risk levels
h. Understanding of methods and techniques of food safety management that enable the
i. Auditor to examine a food safety management system, and to generate appropriate audit
j. Skill of management for findings and conclusions.


3) FSMS Auditing Competences


It is expected that the revised standard will require that auditors have the “ability to identify:


• Foodborne microbiological hazards
• Chemical hazards
• Physical hazards
• Allergens
• Food safety labeling requirements
• Food safety regulations relevant to the food chain category (ISO/TS 22003 annex A) and their recognized control mechanisms
• The ability to evaluate the organization’s capacity to identify and meet applicable

(Country of production/country of destination) food safety regulation and labeling requirements. 



4. Examination


1) About the exam


The exam consists of two types of written exams, Knowledge exam and Attribution test.


The exam is performed at a place that GPC evaluated and finally approved in advance, and generally, it starts at 10:00 am on Saturday (it will be notified prior to the exam).


The applicants should be arrived at the examination site at least 10 minutes before the start and if late or absent, 0 score is automatically given.


Any ID with picture on it for the identification of the candidate has to be presented, and any prohibited items at the examination site have to be left with the invigilator before the start of the exam.


If cheating is detected, the invigilator will ask the candidate to leave immediately and no more exam is allowed.


Please see the exam notification for the details about the examination location and contact information.


2) Knowledge exam


These exam questions were set up based on ISO 22000:2018 standard and the purpose of the exam is to evaluate the qualifications and competence of the candidate who wants to conduct audit activity by the standard the candidate is applying for.


The knowledge exam has a total of 100 questions and consists of 4 sections divided.


1 point for 1 correct answer and the pass criteria is as follows.





* Even if the total points are more than 70 points, the applicant cannot pass the exam without meeting the minimum points required for each section.


Time limitation is only 120 minutes for the examination and it is open-book condition.


If one is failed in the exam, candidate is given one more chance of examination. If candidate fails the consecutive examination, the candidate has to wait another year to take examination.



3) Attribution test


The purpose of the attribution test is to evaluate the characteristics and the qualification as an auditor and it asks how much the application understandable agree with the questions.


It is based on ISO 19011:2011 and consists of 25 questions only. The candidate should choose the answer that comes to mind first.


Up to 4 points are given for each question and as the answer is further from the correct answer, 1 point each is deducted. (0 point for no answer)


The pass criterion is 70 points


If one is failed in the test, another chance of attribution interview is given. If candidate fails to the attribution interview, candidate has to wait another year to take an test.